O Sacrum Convivium: A feast of sacred music

Research output: Non-textual formDigital or Visual Products


  • David J. Smith (Performer)
  • Phillip Cooke (Composer)
  • J.S. Bach (Composer)
  • Thomas Tallis (Composer)
  • Tomás Luis de Victoria (Composer)
  • Thomas Weelkes (Composer)
  • Henry Purcell (Composer)
  • Antonio Lotti (Composer)
  • John Stainer (Composer)
  • Charles Villiers Stanford (Composer)
  • Paul Mealor (Composer)
  • John F. Hudson (Composer)
  • Thomas LaVoy (Composer)


External departments

  • Choir of King's College, Aberdeen
  • University of Aberdeen


Original languageEnglish
PublisherVox Regis
Media of outputCD
Publication statusPublished - 27 May 2016
Publication type

Research output: Non-textual formDigital or Visual Products


Directed by David J. Smith, this CD combines world-première recordings of new music with familiar favourites. Listeners will enjoy motets by Phillip Cooke composed for the choir as well as new pieces by young composers, John F. Hudson and Thomas LaVoy. Choral classics include 16th-century polyphony as well as music by Purcell, Lotti, Stanford, Tavener and Mealor.

The CD also boasts organ music by J.S. Bach played on the chapel’s wonderful organ by Bernard Aubertin.