The Midlands

Research output: Book/ReportBookpeer-review


'The Midlands' is the second collection of poems by Tony Williams, following his acclaimed debut 'The Corner of Arundel Lane and Charles Street'. Beginning in the Midlands themselves, where Mercian kings sleep under wurzels near the local Asda, his poems open out into tragi-comic paeans on dog walks, photocopiers, shut shops and lunchtimes, and meditations on what it means to be a person living, wonkily, anywhere. But beneath the word-play and tomfoolery, something strange is brooding in the caverns underneath the hill. History is coming for you, and if you set out to meet it, you’ll never find your way home…
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationRugby
PublisherNine Arches Press
ISBN (Print)978-0992758936
Publication statusPublished - 2014

Cite this